

Committee and date Council

24 September 2009

Item No

10

Public

ALLOCATION OF COMMITTEE SEATS

Responsible Officer Richard Thomas

Email: richard.thomas@shropshire.gov.uk@shropshire.gov.uk Telephone: (01743) 252725

Summary

To inform Council of the wishes of the Leaders of the Conservative and Liberal Democrat Groups with regard to the membership of various committees.

Recommendations

- A. That the Council confirms the appointments and substitutes for committees as set out in the report.
- B. That Mr R A Evans be appointed as Champion for Affordable Housing in place of Mr N J Hartin

Report

Background

- 1.0 The new Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group, Mr N J Hartin, has given notice of his wish to serve on the Strategic Overview and Scrutiny Committee. Mr P F Phillips will be his substitute on this committee. In addition, Mrs A M Chebsey will replace Mr Hartin on the Strategic Regulatory Committee and Mr P F Phillips will replace him on the South Regulatory Committee. Mr Hartin will then become a substitute on both of these committees.
- 1.1 The Leader of the Conservative Group, Mr K R Barrow, wishes to appoint Mr R Tindall on serve on the South Regulatory Committee in place of Mr L Winwood. Also, following the resignation of Mr P Andrews from the Strategic Overview and Scrutiny Committee, the Conservatives now have a vacancy on that body.

1.2 Mr Barrow also wishes to appoint the following substitutes:

Audit Committee Mr A B Davies

Strategic Licensing Committee Mr T Bebb

> Mr G H L Butler Mr A B Davies Mr R Hughes Mr M J Owen Mrs T Winwood

Mr T Bebb Central Licensing Committee

> Mrs A Durnell Mrs Jo Jones

North Licensing Committee Mr G L Dakin

> Mrs A E Hartley Mr D G Lloyd Mrs M R Mullock

South Licensing Committee Mr D J Evans

> Mr J Hurst-Knight Mr W M Parr Mr G F Tonkinson

Strategic Regulatory Committee Mr P M Adams

> Mr T G Barker Mrs J B Barrow Mr J A Gibson Mr V J Hunt Mr P A Nutting Mr M T Price Mr M L Wood

Central Regulatory Committee Mr P M Adams

> Mrs K Burgoyne Mrs Jo Jones Mr M J Owen Mr D W L Roberts Dr M Winchester

South Regulatory Committee Mr G H L Butler

> Mr J A Gibson Mr C J Lea

Mrs C M A Motley Mr M G Pate

Mr M A Taylor-Smith Mr G F Tonkinson

North Regulatory Committee

Mrs J B Barrow
Mr T H Biggins

Mrs A J Caesar-Homden

Mr S F Charmley Mr G L Dakin Mr J B Gillow Mrs A E Hartley Mr S P A Jones Mr D G Lloyd Mr B B Williams

List of Background Papers (This MUST be completed for all reports, but does not include items containing exempt or confidential information)

The Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and related Regulations

Human Rights Act Appraisal

The contents of this report are compatible with the provisions of the Human Rights act 1998

Environmental Appraisal

Not Applicable

Risk Management Appraisal

Not Applicable

Community / Consultations Appraisal

Not Applicable

Cabinet Member

Mr K R Barrow

Local Member

ΑII

Appendices

None